ANATA “The Infernal Depths of Hatred” LP

  • Release date: 2016-10-21
  • Label: KaosKvlt
  • Catalog #: KXK002


ANATA‘s 1998 classic debut full-length on vinyl for the first time ever at last!

Back in 1993, Death Metal had started taking a turn towards either more melody-driven stuff in Europe (At The Gates and most of the Gothenburg scene) or way more brutal stuff in the US (Suffocation and the likes…) but one band, formed that same year in Varberg (Sweden), stood out from all trends and that one band was the only able to fill the gap between the two different directions: ANATA.

Released in 1998 through then recently launched French label Season of Mist, ANATA‘s debut, “The Infernal Depths of Hatred“, took the unsuspecting Death Metal scene by storm combining a sped up version of the trademark melodic, catchy and uptempo Gothenburg “New Wave of Swedish Death Metal” sound (At The Gates, Soilwork, Dark Tranquillity…) with faster, relentless, heavy parts influenced by the rawer, darker and heavier typical US Death Metal of that time (Morbid Angel, Suffocation, Cannibal Corpse…).

This brand new 2016 reissue, specially remastered for analog physical supports by gifted sound engineer Frédéric Motte at the Conkrere studio (MERCYLESS, OTARGOS, PUTRID OFFAL…) comes with a bonus Morbid Angel cover version (“Day of Suffering“) from ANATA‘s 1999 split with Bethzaida, “War, vol.II“.

Press quotes

  • 10/10 : Pagan Hel
  • 9/10 : Salad Days
  • 8/10 : In Your Eyes

…more coming soon

Track listing

  1. Released When You Are Dead
  2. Let the Heavens Hate
  3. Under Azure Skies
  4. Vast Lands / Infernal Gates
  5. Slain Upon His Altar
  6. Those Who Lick the Wounds of Christ
  7. Dethrone the Hypocrites
  8. Aim Not at the Kingdom High
  9. Day of Suffering [Morbid Angel cover]
  • Total running time: 43:48


  • 300 hand-numbered copies collector edition first press on yellow and black marbled vinyl [KXK002LPLE]

Release dates

  • 21-Oct-16


  • Fredrik Schälin – guitars & vocals
  • Andreas Allenmark – guitars
  • Henrik Drake – bass
  • Robert Petersson – drums


  • All music and lyrics by Fredrik Schälin except
    • “Aim Not at the Kingdom High” music by Fredrik Schälin & Mattias Svensson
    • “Day of Suffering” music by Azagthoth / lyrics by Vincent
  • Recorded at StudioMega February / September 1998
  • Engineered and mixed by Fredrik Schälin and Christian Silver
  • Mastered at StudioMega by Kristian Olsson and Christian Silver
  • Remastered for vinyl at Conkrete studios by Frédéric Motte March 2016
  • Produced by ANATA
  • Executive Producer: Michael Berberian for Season of Mist
  • Executive Producer for this reissue: Nicolas Williart for KaosKvlt / Kaotoxin
  • Issued under exclusive Season of Mist licence